Low Trophic Life Webinar: “Life cycle assessment (LCA) of low-trophic species in aquaculture”

AquaVitae starts 2021 with a new webinar on the life-cycle assessment (LCA) of low-trophic species aquaculture.

Jean-Baptiste Thomas is a postdoc at KTH in Sweden. He will present a life cycle assessment of low trophic species in aquaculture, with a particular focus on seaweed. His research involves assessing the sustainability of the seaweed industry that is developing in Sweden. His doctoral thesis, defended in June 2018 and contributing to the Seafarm project, includes a wide range of analytical methods from environmental economics, social sciences and industrial ecology, which together form a collection of insights on the sustainability of a burgeoning Swedish seaweed industry.

His postdoc is also on this topic, with a focus on economic and environmental supply chain optimisation, while also looking at the potential of marine biomass to contribute to more circular Nitrogen and Phosphorus economies in Sweden. Jean-Baptiste is the first guest speaker from outside the project’s consortium in the Low Trophic Life webinar series.

The live webinar took place on 28 January at 14:00 CET / 15:00 CAT/ 10:00 GMT-3.

The full recording is available here:

Event Details

Thu 28 Jan 2021
14:00 CET / 15:00 CAT / 10:00 GMT-3
Online