Low Trophic Life Webinar: “Fouling on blue mussels”

Photos in collage by Kristina Svedberg, and submarine mussel lines by Daniel Taylor, DTU.

 

Biofouling is one of the main barriers to efficient blue mussels aquaculture production. Can we find a sustainable solution to fouling treatment?

Kristina Svedberg is a marine biologist at Swedish aquaculture company Bohus Havsbruk. She did her master thesis in 2019 on the decreasing blue mussel population for IVL Swedish Environmental Research Institute, and has after that continued working with research on mussel conservation and how to use by-products from aquaculture as a resource. She will present a heat-based anti-fouling field system for reducing the biofouling of calcifying worms.

Event Details

Thu 25 Feb 2021
14:00 CET / 15:00 CAT / 10:00 GMT-3
Online